β
Groww is a financial services company founded in 2016. They offer services in the investment space - be it investing in Mutual funds, trading delivery or intraday. The application provides a simple yet clean UI for its customers who mostly fall in the 22-35 age group. Since the target audience is at a beginner level yet tech savvy, the platform comes across as an ideal fit versus its competitors who have a "complicated UI" with advanced features.
Customer reviews
β
Summarizing the customer feedback
β
Things people love about Groww:
Things people dislike:
β
β
β
β
Current Marketing Campaign
Some snippets from these campaigns are:
β
β
Cable TV ad snippet
β
YouTube shorts
β
β
YouTube long-form educational videos
β
WhatsApp channel Instagram
Telegram channel X account
β
β
AIKI in-person and online seminar
β
YouTube channels for specific asset classes and in regional languages
β
Building the ideal customer profile
β
Name | Aastha |
Age group | 26 |
Gender | Female |
Geographic location | Bangalore - Tier 1 |
Education | Engineer |
Income bracket | 20-25 lpa |
Industry | Electronics |
Interested asset class | MF, Stocks |
Frequency of investment | Daily (stocks), Monthly (SIPs) |
Risk Appetite | High |
Digital savviness | High |
Source of financial information | Youtube, Reddit, Whatsapp community |
Following which "Finfluencers" | Zero1, Groww, Rakesh Bansal, Akshat Shrivastava |
YoE using financial instruments | 5 years |
Other finance platforms used | screener, chartink, investing.com |
Problems faced with the app/ something you wish was better | Technical glitches during high volume trading |
how did you find out about it | WoM - Friend |
version | iOS, Web |
Name | Ruchika |
Age group | 38 |
Gender | Female |
Geographic location | Noida - Tier 2 |
Education | MBA in fin |
Income bracket | 30-35 lpa |
Occupation | Entrepreneur |
Interested asset class | stocks, MFs, Gold(Physical and digital), FD, IPOs, NFOs |
Frequency of investment | stocks, MFs - daily |
Risk Appetite | moderate |
Digital savviness | high |
Source of financial information | Father, Husband, Brother |
Following which "Finfluencers" | None |
YoE using financial instruments | 10-12 years |
Other finance platforms used | Zerodha |
Problems faced with the app/ something you wish was better | used to Zerodha's UI, comfortable there |
how did you find out about it | WoM - Brother |
how long have you been investing | MF, ELSSs, physical gold, insurance - 10/12 years |
version | android |
Name | Parth |
Age group | 22 |
Gender | Male |
Geographic location | Bangalore - tier 1 |
Education | bcom honors |
Income bracket | 28-30 lpa |
Industry | Product |
Interested asset class | MF, Stocks |
Frequency of investment | SIPs |
Risk Appetite | High |
Digital savviness | High |
Source of financial information | WoM, Blogs, investopedia, reddit, Friends and family |
Following which "Finfluencers" | specific MFs - asset management strategy, organic content, z funds, ET |
YoE using financial instruments | 2-3 years |
Other finance platforms used | Fi, Jupyter, Slice, Neo, Simpl, Zerodha, smallcase |
Pros | Security because SEBI regulated, one stop shop |
Problems faced with the app/ something you wish was better | Issues with auto debit feature in SIP Slow customer support |
how did you find out about it | WoM - Friends and Family |
device used | iOS |
Name | Surabhi |
Age group | 29 |
Gender | Female |
Geographic location | Pune - Tier 1 |
Education | Btech ECE |
Income bracket | 20-25 lpa |
Occupation | Automotive sector |
Interested asset class | MFs |
Frequency of investment | monthly |
Risk appetite | low |
Digital savviness | high |
Source of financial information | WoM, research, previous experience in a company |
Finfluencers followed | none |
YoE with financial instruments | 5 years |
Other finance platforms used | none |
Pros | clean UI |
Problems faced | Lengthy procedure with TPIN while selling stocks |
how did you find out about it | Relative - WoM |
version | Android |
Name | Akshita |
Age group | 30-32 |
Gender | Female |
Geographic location | Gurgaon - Tier 1 |
Education | MBA |
Income bracket | 20-25 lpa |
Occupation | Marketing |
Interested asset class | MFs, stocks, IPO, Debt fund - SIPs |
Frequency of investment | daily basis to check stocks |
Risk Appetite | moderate |
Digital savviness | high |
Source of financial information | fundamental analysis on a monthly basis - youtube, industry based research - podcasts screener, finology β |
Following which "Finfluencers" | pranjal kamra, youtube, podcasts |
YoE using financial instruments | 7 years, SIP - Kotak app |
Other finance platforms used | MF - Kotak; stocks - Groww - 2-3 years; hardcore trader would prefer zerodha |
Pros | groww - great UI; Zerodha - plain Jane |
Problems faced with the app/ something you wish was better | Not super active ; don't utilise 100% of the features so no problems |
how did you find out about it | social media - youtube; zerodha- WoM |
version | mobile, didn't know about web |
Name | Shrey |
Age group | 25 |
Gender | Male |
Geographic location | Bangalore - Tier 1 |
Education | CSE |
Income bracket | 25-30 lpa |
Occupation | Investment Banker |
Interested asset class | Equity, Debt - stocks, MF, NCD, FD Digital gold - commodities |
Frequency of investment | daily |
Risk Appetite | very high |
Digital savviness | high |
Source of financial information | financial articles - SEBI, government reports |
Following which "Finfluencers" | none |
YoE using financial instruments | 1 year |
Other finance platforms used | novama - edelweiss, upstox |
Pros | simple, clean UI for stocks |
Problems faced with the app/ something you wish was better | difficulty selling during high volume trading, MFs getting delayed - NAV issue |
how did you find out about it | Ads - focusing on clean UI |
how long have you been investing | 6 months |
version | Android |
Core ICP
β
Age group | 20-40 |
Geographic location | Tier 1 |
Income bracket | 10-30 lpa |
Interested asset class | Equity, Mutual Funds |
Frequency of investment | daily |
Risk Appetite | medium - high |
Digital savviness | high |
Source of financial information | own research, WoM |
YoE using financial instruments | <10 years |
Other finance platforms used | zerodha, upstox, banking apps |
How did they hear about Groww | WoM, Social media |
Influencer | Friends and family, social media |
Blocker | Negative reviews on app store and play store |
Pros and Cons
β
Pros | Cons |
---|---|
People love the UI, very user friendly | Charting system needs improvement |
one stop shop for investments and stocks, can also purchase US ETFs, US FDs, and digital gold | discrepancies in capital gains statement |
β no annual maintenance charges unlike zerodha | people facing issues investing in MFs- not getting same day NAV β |
Commission free investment for customers on Mutual Fund | β Orders placed post market hours getting cancelled when it should be carried over β |
Opening a trading and Demat account is quick and easy | app crashing during high volume trading |
Provides access to over 5000 direct MFs | β intraday trading experience hasnβt been good |
Option for switching directly to mutual funds | zerodha doesnβt charge brokerage on delivery trades |
Can export MFs from other platform to track | not a lot of options like reports when compared to zerodha |
Provision of applying for an IPO online | often run into bugs and you canβt sell or buy or deposit funds during market hours- has been a bad experience for users β |
bad customer support | |
crashes during intraday sometimes | |
Zerodha has a ready made tax p&l statement with the tax liability calculation- missing here | |
Commodity and Currency trading options are not available | |
Advanced orders, including GTT, Bracket, Cover orders, and AMO orders, are not accessible |
Acquisition ceiling
For stocks: 17% of all Indian households invest in the Indian stock markets, says NSE CEO =
80 million unique accounts, compare that to 61% market penetration in countries like US
For mutual funds: 15% of the Indian population vs a global average of 74%
To even bring India's penetration from its current market to the global average, there is an addressable market of around 54% (considering some overlap between MF investors and stock traders) of 141.72 cr
which turns out to be 76.41 cr new users
β
Since, majority of people investing through apps fall under the 20-40 age bracket, let's look at the census reports:
As per the last census of 2011
β
Urban Indian population in the 20-40 age bracket = 50.03 cr which is 35.3% of the total population
β
Hencee, the SAM could be considered = 35.3% of 76.41 cr
= 26.97 cr
β
Groww holds a 23.4% market share in the investment broker space
β
β
Keeping Groww's market share constant - that is around 6.31 cr new accounts!
However, since Groww has seen a 9.5% YoY growth, the actual number can be calculated using the following formula:
New Accounts in Year n=Base New AccountsΓ(1+Growth Rate)^nβ1
β
Let's calculate for next 5 years (assuming growth rate constant)
new accounts = 6.3 * (1 + 0.099)^4
= 9.19 cr
β
Core Value of Groww = Invest in Equity and Debt in a simple way
Comparing our current channels:
Channel vs Parameters | Organic search | Referral | Paid ads | Product integrations |
---|---|---|---|---|
Flexibility | Low | Low | High | Medium |
Effort | High | Low | Medium | High |
Speed | Low | High | High | High |
Scale | High | Medium | High | High |
CAC | Low | High | Medium | Low |
What seems to be working really well for groww?
Let's dive into organic search, the current metrics and what can be done to scale this even further
β
Organic search
β
Groww's current traffic analytics look something like this:
β
β
β
β
β
β
Search Query | Search Volume | Effort to Rank on First Page | Time to get an outcome | Potential monthly signups | |
---|---|---|---|---|---|
Use Case | How to invest in stocks | 1K - 10K | Low | Quick | 100 - 1000 |
How to invest in Mutual funds | 10K - 100K | Low | Quick | 1000- 10000 | |
Brand | Groww | 1M - 10M | Low | Quick | 10000 - 100000 |
Groww App | 100K - 1M | Low | Quick | 1000 - 10000 | |
Competitor | Angel One | 100K - 1M | Low | Quick | 1000 - 10000 |
SBI Mutual Funds | 100k - 1M | Low | Quick | 1000 - 10000 | |
Use Case Topic | Mutual funds | 100k - 1M | Medium | Medium | 100 - 100000 |
Stock Investment | 1K - 10K | Low | Medium | 10 - 100 |
β
β
While groww is already doing a fantastic job on generating traffic (since most of its traffic is organic) and over 1000K+ backlinks and a page score of around 85
β
Things that can be improved upon or scaled would be:
What can be done to further improve these metrics?
β
β
Paid Ads
β
β
β
β
Their current marketing campaign is working well for them as their last ad released 2 months ago already has 60k views.
Let us calculate the CAC/LTV ratio for Groww:
β
Their total reported revenue for FY'23 was 1277.8 cr
Their total number of customers crossed 1 cr in May
Thus, their ARPU comes to around βΉ1277.8
LTV - ARPU * frequency * retention = 1277.8 INR * 4 * 1.5 = 11712
LTV : CAC = 8
Since it's > 3, we can go ahead with Paid ads
β
β
Let's pick an ideal customer profile - Meet Akshita
β
Age | 25 |
Gender | Female |
Geographic location | Bangalore - Tier 1 |
Education | Engineer |
Income bracket | 25-30 lpa |
Occupation | Data analyst |
Hobbies | Reading - fiction, articles; Listening to podcasts, music, travel |
Interested asset class | Stocks, SIPs |
Frequency of investment | daily |
Risk Appetite | high |
Digital savviness | high |
Source of financial information | financial articles, youtube - finance content creators |
Following which "Finfluencers" | Akshat Shrivastava, Zero1, Wint wealth |
YoE using financial instruments | 5 years |
Other finance platforms used | Varsity, screener, chartink, finology, zerodha |
Pros | simple, clean UI for stocks |
Problems faced with the app/ something you wish was better | difficulty selling during high volume trading, MFs getting delayed - NAV issue |
how did you find out about it | Ads - focusing on clean UI |
how long have you been investing | 6 months |
version | iOS |
Now, something we have seen recurring across user calls is how most people using Grow are:
Our ideal customer spends most of their time on instagram and youtube, and stats show that the percentage of userbase between 20-40 on instagram is 60% and for youtube is 38%
The number of subscribers on their youtube channel are over 22.3 lakh and on their instagram page are around 13.5 lakh
Analysing their current content on instagram:
β
β
The most engagement they have received on their reels is when they collaborated with a reputable entity like Dr. Velumani taking their average likes from around 6-7k to 63.7k - which is 10x of the average engagement or when they made content on real-time events like the market crash on the election result day with around 32k likes, again 5x of the average.
They should follow this strategy which has been working for them by creating sponsored posts or videos with people like Dr. Velumani who have a high value following and the community trusts the entity- Groww will be able to borrow trust from them and increase their userbase.
They could also create sponsored posts with trustworthy influencers using trendy audios like
you see what I did there*
β
That's the kind of content that flies for instagram, for youtube - let's do another one:
Groww's main competitor Zerodha does that by getting sponsored shorts from people like Ankur Warikoo
This short has around 150k likes and zerodha has leveraged Ankur's following to effectively upsell their app. This can be done by Zerodha too - there are a lot of other "finfluencers" with huge following. Zerodha also gains a lot of trust through founder's brand - WTF podcast by Nikhil Kamath and their varsity learning channel. Groww needs to do something similar, since this is already tried and tested.
They can sponsor educational content by trustworthy youtubers spreading financial awareness or discussing underrated mutual funds (and similar content)
Another ad creative that Groww can do could be showing a single guy in his early-mid twenties whose dad still uses a scooter and wishes he had a car. The son notices this gap and starts an SIP to buy a car. 2 years later - he gifts his father a car, showcasing wisdom by investing at this early age, gaining respect from parents, achieving his goals - thus highlighting the theme - Life me groww karna zaroori hai
β
β
Brand focused courses
Great brands aren't built on clicks. They're built on trust. Craft narratives that resonate, campaigns that stand out, and brands that last.
All courses
Master every lever of growth β from acquisition to retention, data to events. Pick a course, go deep, and apply it to your business right away.
Explore foundations by GrowthX
Built by Leaders From Amazon, CRED, Zepto, Hindustan Unilever, Flipkart, paytm & more
Crack a new job or a promotion with the Career Centre
Designed for mid-senior & leadership roles across growth, product, marketing, strategy & business
Learning Resources
Browse 500+ case studies, articles & resources the learning resources that you won't find on the internet.
Patienceβyouβre about to be impressed.